Back Main Menu

Parties to the Hague 1996 Convention on Jurisdiction, Applicable Law, Recognition, Enforcement and Co-operation in Respect of Parental Responsibility and Measures for the Protection of Children

The Convention has Entered Into Force (EIF) in the following countries:

Albania, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monoco, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, Uruguay

The Convention has not yet come into force, but dates are set for it to do so:

Sweden and Montenegro (1/1/2013), and Lesotho and the Russian Federation (1/6/2013)

The Convention has also been signed by Belgium, Italy and the United States of America.

Read the Full Text of the Hague Convention 1996.

Follow us on:

Fbook Twitter Blog

Michael Robinson © 2014

Family law information for parents whose children are resident in England and Wales

Crown Copyright material is reproduced with the permission of the Controller of HMSO and the Queen's printer for Scotland.

Shop About us The Custody Minefield